• DemocracyNet in 2019: the highlights!

    Research workshop “Political Representation in Democratic Systems” With presentations by 10 international junior scholars Public lecture by Jane Mansbridge “Recursive Representation in the Shadow of Populism“ Transfer events Abstimm-Bar on the AHV-Steuer Deal and Wähl-Bar on the Swiss national election 2019 New members Dannica Fleuss, Nargiz Hajiyeva, Laetitia Ramelet, Olivier Ruchet, Marew Abebe Salemot, and Chiara Valsangiacomo Many thanks to the wonderful members, organizers, guests, hosts, and collaborating organizations who made this year so exciting for our association! And happy holidays!

  • Public lecture by Prof. Jane Mansbridge

    DemocracyNet is glad to invite you to the public lecture “Recursive Representation in the Shadow of Populism” by Prof. Jane Mansbridge (Harvard Kennedy School) The lecture will take place on Monday, September 9, 2019, from 10.00 to 11.30 am at the University of Zurich, Auditorium AFL-F-121, Affolternstrasse 56 (Oerlikon). Coffee, tea and croissants offered by the IPZ peer-group poliTics from 9:30 am in the hall of the building (Olivenhalle). More information about this event, which will open a two-days DemocracyNet and DPDS workshop on “Political Representation in Democratic Systems,” here: https://democracynet.eu/ws2019/. Funding by the UZH Graduate Campus via a GRC Short Grant is gratefully acknowledged.

  • DemocracyNet in 2018: a year in numbers

    An academic workshop with 11 speakers DemocracyNet Research Workshop, University of Zurich “Democratic Participation: Theoretical and Empirical Perspectives” o 6 public events with 14 guests from politics, civil society, and academia Public Lecture “A Return to Basic Research in the Study of Democracy” by Jean-Paul Gagnon Five Abstimm-Bars (discussion forums about upcoming popular votes in Switzerland) at Karl der Grosse “No-Billag” Initiative, “Vollgeld” Initiative, “Fair-Food” Initiative, “Selbstbestimmungsinitiative,” and Referendum gegen die Überwachung von Sozialversicherten o 7 new members from 6 institutions and various disciplines of democracy studies Odile Ammann, Jean-Paul Gagnon, Libby Maman-Burstein, Daniel Mususa, Jonathan Rinne, Victor Sanchez-Mazas, and Arno Stirnimann o Over 700 followers on Twitter and Facebook o…